LHBT Trustees


Dedicated to sustainable, heritage-led projects.

Our Trustees come from a variety of backgrounds and bring with them a wealth of knowledge, skills and experience that helps us to deliver high quality, sustainable, heritage-led projects.

Georgina Nayler


Georgina has worked in grant giving throughout her career, particularly in the heritage and conservation field.  She was Director of the Pilgrim Trust until May 2020.  She has been a member of the Historic Buildings Council for Scotland, Chair of Archives Revealed and Chair of the Women’s Diversionary Fund.  She is currently Chair of the Charlotte Bonham Carter Charitable Trust, Deputy Chair of the Pitzhanger Manor & Gallery Trust, a member of the Finance and Audit Committee for the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings and a member of the Development Board for the Royal Society of Sculptors. 

Rosie Fraser

Vice Chair

Rosie Fraser, Vice Chair, was previously Executive Director of The Prince’s Regeneration Trust. She is now a freelance Projects Consultant. She is a member of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors. As a Trustee she is responsible for overseeing improvements in communicating and measuring social impact, and was closely involved with the Resilient Heritage Project. She is chair of the line management committee. Rosie brings strategic flair to board discussions.

Alice Yates

Vice Chair

Alice Yates, Vice Chair, has worked for a number of leading heritage charities: SAVE Britain’s Heritage, WMF in Britain, the National Trust of Australia, and the Vivat Trust. A freelance heritage consultant since 2011, she was the HOLTOP Project Organiser for two years, before developing and leading the Resilient Heritage Project with Rosie Fraser. She teaches Architectural History on the Hollins Abroad London Program, and has been a regular Financial Times contributor. She is a SAVE committee member, and as a trustee of LHBT, is a member of the Strategic Review Committee and Buildings Committee. Alice brings wide sector connections, deep knowledge of successful project development and both vision and commitment for taking LHBT to the next level.

Stephen Enthoven


Stephen Enthoven, Secretary, was Director of Projects for The Architectural Heritage Fund; former Trustee and Project Director of Turner’s House Trust, and former Trustee and Treasurer of The Heritage Alliance. As the Secretary he sits on the Finance and Risk committee.  Stephen has a great eye for detail and a sound understanding of charitable legal matters, he offers a guiding hand and a safety net to us all.

Peter Jenkins


Peter Jenkins is a Chartered Accountant and was Finance Director of several PLCs. He then became Finance Director of The Prince’s Regeneration Trust and following that he was Finance Director and Interim Chief Executive of the charity Power to Change. Peter has been a member of the ICAEW Council and a Trustee of Young Minds. Peter is currently the Chief Financial Officer of World Commerce & Contracting.

David Gibson


David Gibson, is the founding partner of David Gibson Architects and Chairman of the Islington Society. He has been a member of the Islington Conservation Advisory Committee for over twenty years and served for five years as a professional advisor to the planning committee. He is a member of the Buildings Committee. David has a gentle but insightful sense of humour to warm our proceedings.

Michael Brooke


Michael Brooke, is a founding partner of Smith Brooke Architects, an architectural practice established in 1984. He is chair of the Buildings Committee.  He advises on how income can be maximised, and helps to identify projects with the potential to generate an income for the Trust. He brings an appetite for managed risk, perhaps learnt from his sailing exploits!

Sarah Buckingham


Sarah Buckingham works in local government as the Conservation and Design Team Leader at the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea and as Course Director in Historic Building Conservation for the University of Cambridge.  She was previously a planning inspector, and prior to that worked for Historic England’s policy team developing reforms to planning law, policy and practice, and previously as a Team Leader in the London Team.  She is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries.  Sarah sits on the line management committee. 

Paul Atkinson


Paul Atkinson is an experienced corporate and marketing communications person. He has held a number of senior roles with Nationwide Building Society, RSA Insurance and Aon and has more recently worked as an independent consultant with a range of financial services firms, membership organisations and regulatory bodies. In addition to his practical communications expertise, Paul provides us with a strong corporate management perspective.  

Philip Smith


Philip Smith is an experienced stakeholder engagement and communications specialist with a strong track record of success as a negotiator, problem solver and engagement strategist. He has worked in roles across the public, private and third sectors, providing specialist support to lead projects that are politically sensitive, time-critical and requiring engagement with multiple stakeholders, with varying interests. He is also passionate about historic building conservation, holding an MSc in the subject. As a Trustee of LHBT, he is a member of the Buildings Committee and Marketing Committee. 

Alec Forshaw


Alec Forshaw, is a former long-standing Conservation Officer with the London Borough of Islington and experienced campaigner with organisations such as SAVE Britain’s Heritage, the Victorian Society and the Churches Conservation Trust. Alec is a member of the Buildings Committee. Alec is closely involved in the development of projects, reviewing the schemes and attending project meetings. Alec provides a powerful energy and enthusiasm to both projects and organisational development.

Lili Long


Lili Long has held a number of senior strategic and commercial roles in sectors ranging from capital markets to retail financial services and real estate. She also serves as a non-executive Director at Partnership Learning, an academy trust responsible for 12 schools in East London. She is an experienced angel investor and has a socially minded outlook, bringing us insight and energy to the delivery of our social impact goals. 

Malcolm Crowder


Malcolm Crowder is our President. He is also a former treasurer and Project Organiser for the Trust. 

Ronnie Barden

Vice President

Ronnie Barden is our Vice President. Ronnie is also the Vice President and Member of the Executive of The London Mayors’ Association. He has extensive experience in finance both from his own companies, and from his Local Government Service as a former Leader and former Cabinet Member of Finance of the London Borough of Redbridge.



Diana Beattie

Vice President

Diana was the Chair of LHBT for 6 years and a trustee for nearly 20. She remains committed to the Trust and has now taken on role as a Vice President. She is also a trustee of the Wiltshire Building Preservation Trust, and chair of the South East area for the Heritage Network. 

Get Involved

Whether you have a passion for saving buildings that lie unloved or for bringing buildings and communities together to generate social benefits, there are many ways in which you can get involved and help us to create a brighter future for the Capital’s built heritage.

You can make a one off donation to support our work.

Keep up to date with what we’re doing and seeing how projects are progressing.

If you’re a more hands on kind of person than why not sign up?

We often hold events or workshops which were designed to help support volunteer led groups.

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter

We’ll be in touch soon…

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.